返回“金点子”页面

打造可持续的未来

2021年4月01日

负责经营:可持续发展的驱动力

作者:Jason Scott,M&E项目总监兼EH&S全球总监

近年来,越来越多的环境问题以及来自消费者监管机构的压力迫使生产性企业更加重视负责任的经营。盛禧奥每天都在努力为我们的客户提供必要的材料,帮助他们减少对环境的影响,同时,我们也在采取措施减少我们运营的碳足迹。通过我们雄心勃勃的2030年可持续发展目标,我们不仅努力创造可持续的产品,而且还确保我们的采购、制造和生产对环境负责。

这些年来,我们在如何建立成功的运营计划和实现雄心勃勃的长期目标方面学到了很多。以下三条建议可帮助您获得动力、保持积极性并找到合适的人来实现您的可持续发展目标。

现在开始,从小处着手

对于那些希望改善其负责任的经营以作为可持续发展目标一部分的企业来说,关键是现在就开始。即使是长期目标,并且似乎遥不可及,也不要停滞不前。采取行动并开始前进。回顾盛禧奥过去10年来可持续发展的历程,我们取得成功的关键在于持续改进。我们不断评估我们的表现,并寻找新的方法进行改进。我们拥有强大的文化和管理体系,两者都促进了积极的变革,帮助塑造了我们的可持续发展目标。

保持积极性

虽然这个过程可能很漫长,而且进展也是渐进式的,但还是应抽时间庆祝一路取得的成果。其间肯定会遇到挑战,所以记住“为什么”很重要。想想您为实现这些雄心勃勃的目标而努力的原因——为当代和子孙后代建设一个更美好、更具可持续性的明天。不断向您的员工传达这一理念。当您随着时间的推移看到成果并庆祝取得的积极变化时,您很容易对负责任的经营感到振奋。

培养激情

我们的员工队伍对我们的可持续运营举措有着重大影响。我们的许多员工都对能耗优化和节能充满了令人难以置信的激情,他们渴望引领可持续发展之路。这种心态从管理层开始,并逐步影响到整个公司。

作为一个组织,我们努力为一项工作找到合适且充满激情的领导者。如果一个项目或任务激发了个人的灵感,他们就应该参与交付最终成果。无论是什么行业,培养对工作的激情都应该是管理层的首要任务。激情不但会影响生产力,还能促进专精与成功。它还可以提供必要的动力,进而提高工作效率并发挥积极影响。

在您生产的每一件产品和您做出的每一个决定中,寻找机会展现负责任的经营并提高可持续性。这是一个缓慢而稳定的过程,但您负责任的经营最终将对您服务的社区和行业产生持久的影响。

与同事或好友分享:

接收盛禧奥独家内容

方便地通过电子邮件抢先了解新产品信息、公司新闻及其它盛禧奥资讯动态!

Back to Empowering Ideas

Driving Sustainable Futures

April 01, 2021

Responsible Operations: A Driving Force for Sustainability

By Jason Scott, Program Director M&E & Global Director EH&S

Mounting environmental issues and pressure from consumers regulatory agencies have necessitated an increased focus from manufacturing companies on responsible operations in recent years. While Trinseo works each day to provide the materials necessary for our customers to reduce their environmental impact, we have also taken steps to reduce the carbon footprint of our operations. Through our ambitious 2030 sustainability goals, we are striving to not only create sustainable products, but also ensure that our sourcing, manufacturing, and production is environmentally responsible.

We have learned a lot over the years about what it takes to build a successful operations program and to meet ambitious, long-term goals. Here are three tips for gaining momentum, staying motivated, and finding the right people to achieve your sustainability goals.

Start Now, Start Small

For those looking to improve their responsible operations as part of their sustainability goals, the key is to start now. Even if the goals are long-term and seem out of reach, do not stand still. Take action and begin moving forward. When looking back at the sustainability evolution at Trinseo over the past 10 years, the key to our success has been continuous improvement. We are constantly evaluating our performance and searching for new ways to improve. We have a strong culture and management system, both of which have cultivated positive change and shaped our sustainability goals.

Stay Motivated

Though the process may be long and the progress incremental, take time to celebrate victories along the way. Yes, there will be challenges; so, it is important to remember the “why?”. Think about the reasons you are working toward these ambitious goals – to build a better, more sustainable tomorrow for current and future generations. Continuously communicate these to your employees. It is easy to get excited about responsible operations when you see results over time and celebrate these positive changes.

Foster Passion

Our workforce has had a strong influence on our sustainable operations efforts. Many of our employees are incredibly passionate about energy optimization and reduction, and they are eager to lead the sustainability charge. This mentality starts at the leadership level and trickles down throughout the company.

As an organization, we try to find the right, passionate leader for a job. If a project or task sparks inspiration in an individual, they should have a hand in delivering the end result. No matter the industry, fostering passion in the workplace should be a priority for leadership. Not only does passion influence productivity, but it leads to mastery and success. It also provides the necessary motivation to work at a high level and make a difference.

In every product and decision you make, look for an opportunity to exhibit responsible operations and increase sustainability. It is a slow and steady process, but ultimately your responsible operations will leave a lasting impact on the communities and industries you serve.

Share with your colleagues or friends:

Get Exclusive Trinseo Content

Be the first to hear about new product information, company news, and more Trinseo updates conveniently via email!